South Africa making waves at the Parliamentary Rugby World Cup

by FariedaSeptember 20, 2019

Yes, the Parliamentary Rugby World Cup is an actual thing and the team representing South Africa has proven to be far from pushovers.

Much like the actual tournament, beginning in Japan on Friday, the parliament version is also held every four years, and serves as the curtain raiser for the global spectacle event.

The 2019 edition kicked off in Yokohama on Friday, and features teams from the parliaments of South Africa, New Zealand, France, Wales, Scotland, England, Ireland, Argentina, Australia, and the host Japan.

Winning start for South Africa

South Africa kicked off their campaign against the host nation on Sunday, and set out to avenge the Springboks’ infamous defeat from four years ago.

Captained by Economic Freedom Fighters [EFF] MP, Nazier Paulsen – who traded his red overalls for the green and gold – the Saffas got off to the perfect start, brushing Japan aside to set up a clash against Australia.

Speaking after the match, SA team leader Cedric Frolic –  House Chairperson responsible for Committees, ICT and Oversight in the National Assembly – praised the initiative.

“This a good advertisement for the game and how it can build long-lasting relationships across the globe. This initiative should be sustained.”

Cedric Frolic

SA up for bronze in the Parliamentary Rugby World Cup

Up next for the men in green and gold were the Parliamentarians from Down Under, and it proved to be the end of the road unfortunately, as they were knocked out of the competition, just one hurdle away from glory.

South Africa crashed to a 24-12 defeat, and it wasn’t all one-way traffic, with Democratic Alliance MP, Geordin Hill-Lewis named man-of-the-match after inspiring his side’s fight back.

This means that South Africa will contest for third place, where they will come against France, while New Zealand and Australia battle it out for silverware.

Both matches are on Thursday.

The games are played in four quarters of 15 minutes, with a five-minute break between each.

Only 11 members of parliament make up South Africa’s 41-man squad, with the rest of the spots filled up by parliamentary service personnel, including members of the SAPS VIP unit. So, very slim chance of seeing a Terror Lekota controlling the base of a rolling maul.

The actual 2019 Rugby World Cup kicks off on Friday 20 September, and continues until 2 November.

The Springboks begin their campaign against the All Blacks in Yokohama on Saturday.


About The Author